If your vehicle is six years or older your Vehicle Registration Renewal might require a SMOG Certification. If you need a regular smog for any vehicle or any reason, you can stop by Bonita Valley Auto Care. Bonita Valley Auto Care is quick convenient and hassle free. We are also a full service automotive shop which means we can provide you with recommendations to help you with the needed repairs to pass your SMOG test.
What is Test Only Center?
A test only center is a smog check station that is allowed to do only smog no repairs. If your car fails smog check you need to go to a test and repair station. A test only smog check center has an obligation to insure a non-biased smog test inspection. They can not perform repairs and can not profit by failing your car.
Why I have to go to a Test Only Center?
In order to comply with state of CALIFORNIA laws department of Consumer affairs/Bureau of Automotive Repair directs vehicles that are more likely to fail called High Emitter Profile or Gross Polluters to a Test Only Center and two percent of the vehicles that are driven on California roads are directed to test only centers so overall effectiveness of the Smog Check Program.
What is High Emitter Profile?
All the gasoline powered vehicles driven on California roads are required to get emission test every two years or change of ownership all the data collected from smog inspection goes into database called Vehicle Identification Database (VID) The VID is used by the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), BAR, and other government agencies. In addition, general vehicle data such as make, model-year, vehicle miles traveled, high mileage, very low mileage for age, emissions-related recalls/technical service bulletins, a history of failing smog tests, vehicles was tested by a technician/station that received a citation, pattern problems and engine size help define the HEP.
Vehicles Exempt from Smog Check :
When a car is sold, who is responsible for the inspection?
The seller is required to provide the buyer with a valid smog inspection certification at the time of the sale or transfer. Smog certifications are good for 90 days from the date of issuance.
The inspection is not required on a transfer if a biennial smog certification was submitted to DMV within 90 days prior to the vehicle transfer date (a vehicle inspection report may be required for proof of certification).
NOTE: Smog certifications are not required for transfers that occur for a gasoline powered motor vehicle that is four or less model years old. (Determine the oldest-qualifying year model by subtracting three from the current year) the four or less model years old rule does not apply to diesel powered vehicles. A smog transfer fee will be collected from the new owner.
*courtsey of the CA DMV
- 1975 and older vehicles
- Natural gas powered vehicle weighing more than 14000 pounds
- Diesel vehicles older than 1998 or GVWR 14000 pounds
- Electrical vehicles